Statement of Former U.S. Attorneys Who Served under Republican Presidents

We are former United States Attorneys who were appointed and served under Republican Presidents, including Dwight Eisenhower, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush and George W. Bush. Among us, we have decades of public service, and share a deep commitment to the rule of law and an abiding respect for the federal government's critical role in protecting public safety, promoting social justice, and defending the rights and liberties of our citizenry.

When we were in office, we operated in accordance with a mandate from our leadership that reflected the foundational principles of the Department of Justice. Our primary duty was to ensure that the laws were enforced both effectively and impartially within our respective districts. In pursuing that mission, we understood that our offices were to be guided solely by the interests of the American people and the cause of justice. Although we were political appointees, it was expected that politics would play no role in the exercise of our prosecutorial discretion and that we would make decisions according to the facts and law and without regard to their political implications. And, as the chief federal law enforcement officials in our districts, we were expected to work closely with state and local officials of all political affiliations to build a unified law enforcement partnership to protect and promote justice in our communities.

As we watch the turbulent events unfolding in our country today, we are concerned that the President has departed from this traditional mandate in several troubling ways. First, the President has clearly conveyed that he expects his Justice Department appointees and prosecutors to serve his personal and political interests in the handling of certain cases – such as the investigations into foreign election interference and the prosecution of his political associates – and has taken action against those who have stood up for the interests of justice. He has politicized the Justice Department, dictating its priorities along political lines and breaking down the barrier that prior administrations had maintained between political and prosecutorial decision making – a barrier that has been fundamental to maintaining confidence among the American people that their Justice Department is acting as a fair and impartial arbiter of prosecutorial discretion. Finally, he has undermined the Department's ability to unify and lead our nation's law enforcement by picking political fights with state and local officials in a naked effort to demonize and blame them for the disturbances in our cities over the past several months. For these reasons, we believe that President Trump's leadership is a threat to the rule of law in our country, and we do not support his reelection.

In contrast with President Trump, former Vice President Joe Biden has devoted his career to supporting law enforcement, protecting the independence of the Justice Department, and working to ensure that the federal government exercises its law enforcement powers fairly and impartially and in the interests of all Americans. And, as he has often mentioned during this turbulent time, Joe Biden understands that unity – and not division – is the key to meeting the challenges that our country is facing. Unlike the current president, Joe Biden and his Justice Department will make every effort to unite law enforcement and the nation in the pursuit of justice – to defend the rule of law, to serve and protect all Americans, and to build a criminal justice system that provides equal justice under the law.

We firmly believe that Vice President Joe Biden is the candidate who can – and will – provide the leadership we need to refocus the Justice Department on the cause of impartial justice and to address the deep-seated societal issues that are roiling our country today. We give him our strongest endorsement, and we hereby announce that we will each be voting for Joe Biden and Kamala Harris to serve as the next President and Vice President of the United States.

A. Brian Albritton Middle District of Florida 2008-2010

Donald B. Ayer Eastern District of California 1981-1986

Daniel Bogden District of Nevada 2001-2007, 2009-2017

Greg Brower District of Nevada 2008-2009

Wayne Budd District of Massachusetts 1989-1992

Paul Charlton District of Arizona 2001-2006

Jonathan L. Goldstein District of New Jersey 1974-1977

Thomas Heffelfinger District of Minnesota 1991-1993, 2001-2006

David C. Iglesias District of New Mexico 2001-2006

Marcos Jimenez Southern District of Florida 2002-2005 David Kelley Southern District of New York 2003-2005

John McKay Western District of Washington 2001-2006

Michael McKay Western District of Washington 1989-1993

Jan Paul Miller Central District of Illinois 2002-2005

Matthew Orwig Eastern District of Texas 2001-2007

Paul Perez Middle District of Florida 2002-2007

Stanley Twardy District of Connecticut 1985-1991

Ken Wainstein District of Columbia 2004-2006

William H. Webster Eastern District of Missouri 1960-1961

William Weld District of Massachusetts 1981-1986