## STATEMENT OF FORMER U.S. ATTORNEYS WHO SERVED UNDER REPUBLICAN PRESIDENTS CONCERNING THE ELECTORAL PROCESS

As former United States Attorneys, we have been inspired by the overwhelming voter turn-out in virtually every state and territory in our nation, despite the very real challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, we have been impressed by the efforts of governors, state legislators, and election officials from around the country to create the electoral infrastructure necessary to accommodate every eligible citizen's right to vote notwithstanding these unprecedented challenges.

Against this positive backdrop, we feel compelled to speak out against President Trump's premature, baseless, and reckless comments about the vote in Pennsylvania and elsewhere. Unfounded allegations of fraud and threats to initiate litigation aimed at stopping the vote count are clearly inappropriate and have the potential to undermine the rule of law as it applies to our electoral process. Moreover, for any candidate, let alone the President of the United States, to claim victory, without justification, before each and every vote is counted is imprudent and irresponsible. Therefore, we hereby call upon the President to patiently and respectfully allow the lawful vote-counting process to continue, in accordance with applicable federal and state laws, and to avoid any further comments or other actions which can serve only to undermine our democracy.

As a nation, we are now in the midst of one of the most fundamental and important aspects of our constitutional democracy – the electoral process. Whether it takes days, or even weeks, for that process to conclude, it must be allowed to take place in a way that is open, fair, and lawful, and without any improper political interference. The whole world is watching, and our very legitimacy as a nation of laws, not men, depends on getting this right.

A. Brian Albritton Middle District of Florida 2008-2010

Daniel Bogden District of Nevada 2001-2007, 2009-2017

Greg Brower District of Nevada 2008-2009

Wayne Budd District of Massachusetts 1989-1992 Paul Charlton District of Arizona 2001-2006

Jonathan L. Goldstein District of New Jersey 1974-1977

Thomas Heffelfinger District of Minnesota 1991-1993, 2001-2006

David C. Iglesias District of New Mexico 2001-2006 Marcos Jimenez Southern District of Florida 2002-2005

David Kelley Southern District of New York 2003-2005

John McKay Western District of Washington 2001-2006

Michael McKay Western District of Washington 1989-1993

Greg Miller Northern District of Florida 2002-2008

Jan Paul Miller Central District of Illinois 2002-2005 Matthew Orwig Eastern District of Texas 2001-2007

Stanley Twardy District of Connecticut 1985-1991

Ken Wainstein District of Columbia 2004-2006

William H. Webster Eastern District of Missouri 1960-1961

William Weld District of Massachusetts 1981-1986