

December 4, 2020

The Honorable Lucas Miller Inspector General of Pennsylvania 555 Walnut Street, 8th Floor Harrisburg, PA 17101

Re: 2020 Election Review

Dear Inspector General Miller:

In 2019 the Pennsylvania General Assembly enacted comprehensive changes to our Commonwealth's Election Code. These changes expanded voting access by permitting no-excuse mail-in ballots while also implementing reasonable safeguards to ensure that this new system would be secure and transparent to ensure that all Americans could have confidence in Pennsylvania's election results. These changes received bipartisan support, including the signature of Governor Tom Wolf.

Unfortunately, further changes were implemented to our elections and new guidance was issued just prior to the General Election day. This resulted in confusion, irregularities, and a lack of statewide continuity concerning how our elections were conducted.

For these reasons, we the undersigned members of the Pennsylvania General Assembly request a review of the Department of State's internal policies and procedures during the 2020 General Election; a review of any IT issues, specifically server issues and election website glitch errors; a review of internal control policies of the SURE System; recommendations for the Department of State to improve internal controls; and recommendations to improve coordination between the Department of State and counties. We request this to ensure the statutes governing our elections were not violated and internal policies were followed, and additionally request any recommendations you might wish to make to the General Assembly concerning further internal control policies to prevent even the appearance of election manipulation in the Commonwealth.

Seth Grove

Representative, 196th District

Sincerely,

/ Kristin Phillips-Hill Senator, 28th District

Judy Ward Senator, 30th District

David G. Argall Senator, 29th District

Ryan Aument Senator, 36th District

Michele Brooks Senator, 50th District

Wayne Langerholc Senator, 35th District

Doug Mastriano Senator, 33rd District

Pat Stefano Senator, 32nd District Mike Regan
Senator, 31st District

Dave Arnold Senator, 48th District

Camera Bartolotta Senator, 46th District

Scott Hutchinson
Senator, 21st District

Scott Martin
Senator, 13th District

Joe Pittman Senator, 41st District

Gene Yaw Senator, 23rd District

Kerry Benninghoff

Representative, 171st District

Jim Cox

Representative, 129th District

Torren Ecker

Representative, 193rd District

Jim Struzzi

Representative, 62^{#d} District

David Rowe

Representative, 85th District

Aaron Kaufer

Representative, 120th District

Ryan Warner

Representative, 52nd District

Eric Nelson

Representative, 57th District

Bryan Cutler Representative, 100th District

Kate Klunk

Representative, 169th District

Bud Cook

Representative, 49th District

Francis X. Pay

Frank Ryan

Representative, 101st District

Representative, 110th District

Clint Owlett

Representative, 68th District

Aaron Bernstine

Representative, 10th District

Andrew Lewis

Representative, 105th District

Dovle Heffley Representative, 122nd District

David Maloney Malney Representative, 130th District

Craig Staats Representative, 145th District

Jesse Topper Representative, 78th District

Paul Schemel Representative, 90th District

John Hershey Representative, 82nd District

Brad Roae Representative, 6th District

Brad Roae

Marci Mustello Representative, 11th District

Parci Wustelle

Kathy Rapp

Representative, 65th District

Lou Schmitt Representative, 79th District

Mindy Fee Representative, 37th District

Eric Davanzo Representative, 58th District

Cris Dush Senator Elect, 25th District

David Millard Representative, 109th District

and R. Milland

Ryan Mackenzie

Representative, 134th District

Lee James

Representative, 64th District

Matt Dowling
Representative, 51st District

Jonathan Fritz / Representative, 111th District

Martin Causer Representative, 67th District

Tim Hennessey Representative, 26th District

Greg Rothman

Representative, 87th District

Dan Moul

Representative, 91st District

Thomas Sankey

Representative, 73rd District

Donna Oberlander Representative, 63rd District George Dunbar

Representative, 56th District

Rich Irvin
Representative, 81st District

Jeff Wheeland Representative, 83rd District

Dant X. Hicker nely

David Hickernell Representative, 98th District

Brett Miller
Representative,41st District

Keith Greiner

Representative, 43rd District

Jack Rader

Representative, 176th District

Curt Sonney

Representative, 4th District

Mike Reese

Representative, 59th District

Todd Polinchock Representative, 144th District

Chris Quinn Representative, 168th District

Martina White Representative, 170th District

Martina a. White

Perry Stambaugh Representative, 86th District

Wendi Thomas

Representative, 178th District

Michael Peifer

Representative, 139th District

Mike Jones

Representative, 93rd District

Kathleen Tomlinson

Representative, 18th District

Parbara Gleim

Barbara Gleim

Representative, 199th District

Carl Walker Metzgar

Representative, 69th District

Tom Mehaffie

Representative, 106th District

James Gregory

Representative, 80th District

Dawn Keefer

Representative, 92nd District

Natalie Mihalek

Representative, 40th District

Sheryl Delozier

Representative, 88th District

Frank Farry

Representative, 142nd District

Mark Gillen

Representative, 128th District

nfeghan a. Schroedes

Meghan Schroeder

Representative, 29th District

Steven Mentzer

Representative, 97th District

Craig Williams

Representative, 160th District

Parke Wentling

Representative, 17th District