EU, 6 Central American Countries Ink Trade Deal

Law360, New York (March 23, 2011, 6:25 PM EDT) -- Representatives from the European Union and six Central American nations signed an association agreement on Tuesday that contains a comprehensive trade deal.

The bilateral agreement between the EU and the Central American countries — Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama — was the product of more than three years of negotiations and promises to loosen regulations on trade between the two regions.

EU Commissioner for Trade Karel De Gucht called the deal “an ambitious and comprehensive agreement, which will boost trade and investment...
To view the full article, register now.