We use cookies on this site to enable your digital experience. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our cookie policy. close

EU Member States Gear Up For Energy Deregulation

Law360 (June 29, 2007, 12:00 AM EDT) -- After years of discussion, the European Union plan to open energy markets will finally come to fruition as Member States begin the deregulation process on July 1.

On Sunday, all Member States will open their electricity and gas markets to foreign competition. Some states have already taken steps to deregulate one of the industries, with Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Finland, Ireland and Sweden having opened their electricity markets, and Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands and Italy having deregulated their gas markets.

France, Bulgaria, Hungary,...
To view the full article, register now.
Law360 Pro Say Podcast
Check out Law360's new podcast, Pro Say, which offers a weekly recap of both the biggest stories and hidden gems from the world of law.