G-7 Excludes Russia From Summit Conference

Law360, New York (March 24, 2014, 7:51 PM EDT) -- Leaders from the U.S., Japan, Canada and several European countries on Monday threatened new sanctions against Russia and said they would meet without the country this summer as a result of its annexation of Crimea, effectively transforming the G-8 into the G-7.

Following an emergency meeting during the National Security Summit in the Netherlands, members of the so-called G-7 — Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the U.K. and the U.S. — said in a joint statement that they would convene without Russia this June.

“Today, we...
To view the full article, register now.