EU Releases 'Blacklist' Of Tax Havens, Including South Korea

Law360, Washington (December 5, 2017, 2:32 PM EST) -- The European Union's Economic and Financial Affairs Council released Tuesday a list of 17 nations it says are "uncooperative on tax matters," opening them to possible economic sanctions.

The list of alleged tax havens includes many small countries — including Panama, whose tax practices have come under fire in recent years — but surprised observers by including South Korea, one of the world's largest economies.

The list does not include any members of the EU, which drew criticism from advocacy groups who said the nations should have looked...
To view the full article, register now.