What Does Same-Sex Marriage Mean For Employers?

Law360, New York (August 17, 2009, 4:31 PM EDT) -- Six states have legalized same-sex marriages: Massachusetts (2004); Connecticut (2008); Iowa (2009); Vermont (2009); Maine (2009); and New Hampshire (2009). Massachusetts, Connecticut and Iowa already authorize same-sex marriages.

The other states have enacted laws that will take effect within the next six months: the Vermont law will take effect Sept. 1, 2009; the Maine law will take effect 90 days after the close of the legislative session, or approximately Sept. 12, 2009; and the New Hampshire law will take effect Jan. 1, 2010.

These state laws...
To view the full article, register now.

UK Financial Services

UK Financial Services

Read Our Latest UK Financial Services Coverage

Financial Services Law360 UK provides breaking news and analysis on the financial sector. Coverage includes UK and European Union policy, enforcement, and litigation involving banks, asset management firms, and other financial services organizations.