3 More States Must Now Pay Amazon Sales Taxes

Law360, New York (January 2, 2014, 5:16 PM EST) -- Shoppers in Indiana, Nevada and Tennessee must now pay sales taxes on purchases made from online retail behemoth Amazon.com Inc., in measures that took effect with the new year.

With no congressional action on the Marketplace Fairness Act or similar provisions to update rules for online retailers, more than half of all Americans now pay sales taxes on Amazon purchases as the retailer continues to reach deals with individual states.

By federal law, Amazon only has to collect sales tax in states where it has a...
To view the full article, register now.
Law360 Pro Say Podcast
Check out Law360's new podcast, Pro Say, which offers a weekly recap of both the biggest stories and hidden gems from the world of law.