EU Targets 11 Member States Over Merger Laws

Law360, New York (June 5, 2008, 12:00 AM EDT) -- The European Commission is taking action against 11 member states, claiming they have failed to implement the European Union’s cross-border mergers directive and threatening to take them before the European Court of Justice in two months.

On Thursday, the commission said it was planning to send formal requests to Greece, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, the Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Slovenia, Belgium, Spain and France, after determining that the countries had failed to implement the EU’s cross-border merger rules as part of their national laws.

The cross-border mergers directive,...
To view the full article, register now.