European Commission Takes 9 Member States to Court Over Copyright Law

Law360, New York (December 17, 2003, 12:00 AM EST) -- The European Commission Wednesday took nine governments to the European Court of Justice for failing to implement the 2001 Copyright Directive.

Belgium, Spain, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Finland and Sweden missed a Dec. 22, 2002, deadline to enact the rules, the Commission said.

Only Greece and Denmark met the original deadline for passage, but Italy, Austria, Germany and the United Kingdom have since adopted the legislation. The U.K. adopted the Copyright Directive last month, but still faces legal action because its rules don’t apply to...
To view the full article, register now.

UK Financial Services

UK Financial Services

Read Our Latest UK Financial Services Coverage

Financial Services Law360 UK provides breaking news and analysis on the financial sector. Coverage includes UK and European Union policy, enforcement, and litigation involving banks, asset management firms, and other financial services organizations.