Feds Block 3 Countries' Eligibility For H-2A, H-2B Visas

By Kevin Penton (January 17, 2019, 7:19 PM EST) -- The Trump administration is planning to strip the Dominican Republic, Ethiopia and the Philippines from eligibility for the H-2A and H-2B nonimmigrant visas for the rest of 2019, citing concerns over either their lack of cooperation in repatriating deported citizens or a high percentages of their citizens overstaying U.S. visas.

Citizens from Ethiopia and the Philippines will not be eligible for either of the short-term work visas, while individuals from the Dominican Republic will be eligible only for H-2A visas, according to a notice the U.S. Department of Homeland Security plans to publish Friday in the Federal Register.

Almost 30 percent...

Stay ahead of the curve

In the legal profession, information is the key to success. You have to know what’s happening with clients, competitors, practice areas, and industries. Law360 provides the intelligence you need to remain an expert and beat the competition.

  • Access to case data within articles (numbers, filings, courts, nature of suit, and more.)
  • Access to attached documents such as briefs, petitions, complaints, decisions, motions, etc.
  • Create custom alerts for specific article and case topics and so much more!


Hello! I'm Law360's automated support bot.

How can I help you today?

For example, you can type:
  • I forgot my password
  • I took a free trial but didn't get a verification email
  • How do I sign up for a newsletter?
Ask a question!