Trump To Boot 3 Countries From Migrant Visa Program

By Alyssa Aquino (January 12, 2021, 3:40 PM EST) -- The Trump administration announced Tuesday that it was cutting Mongolia, Samoa and Tonga from the H-2A and H-2B migrant visa programs through the end of the year, based on high visa overstay rates and noncooperation with deportation proceedings.

Citizens from all three countries will no longer be eligible for the H-2A visa program, which allows employers to fill seasonal and temporary agricultural jobs. Samoan and Tongan citizens will also be barred from the H-2B program, which provides short-term visas to nonagricultural workers and is popular within the landscaping and hospitality sectors, according to a U.S. Department of Homeland Security notice on...

Stay ahead of the curve

In the legal profession, information is the key to success. You have to know what’s happening with clients, competitors, practice areas, and industries. Law360 provides the intelligence you need to remain an expert and beat the competition.

  • Access to case data within articles (numbers, filings, courts, nature of suit, and more.)
  • Access to attached documents such as briefs, petitions, complaints, decisions, motions, etc.
  • Create custom alerts for specific article and case topics and so much more!


Hello! I'm Law360's automated support bot.

How can I help you today?

For example, you can type:
  • I forgot my password
  • I took a free trial but didn't get a verification email
  • How do I sign up for a newsletter?
Ask a question!