US Restricts 6 Countries From Selling Telecom Products

Law360 (January 14, 2021, 7:55 PM EST) -- The U.S. Commerce Department announced a new rule Thursday that designates China, Russia, North Korea and three other nations as national security threats and prohibits U.S. companies from buying six types of communications infrastructure products and services from them.

The rule, set to take effect in 60 days, fleshes out President Donald Trump's May 2019 executive order that empowered Commerce to block technology transactions involving a "foreign adversary." The rule, which also names Cuba, Iran and Venezuela's Maduro regime, prohibits transactions with the designated nations — not specific companies in those nations — and more narrowly defines the types of communications technology the...

Stay ahead of the curve

In the legal profession, information is the key to success. You have to know what’s happening with clients, competitors, practice areas, and industries. Law360 provides the intelligence you need to remain an expert and beat the competition.

  • Access to case data within articles (numbers, filings, courts, nature of suit, and more.)
  • Access to attached documents such as briefs, petitions, complaints, decisions, motions, etc.
  • Create custom alerts for specific article and case topics and so much more!


Hello! I'm Law360's automated support bot.

How can I help you today?

For example, you can type:
  • I forgot my password
  • I took a free trial but didn't get a verification email
  • How do I sign up for a newsletter?
Ask a question!