Same-Sex Couples, Different Tax Treatment

Law360, New York (December 5, 2011, 1:36 PM EST) -- Currently, the legal status of same-sex relationships is treated in a variety of ways at the state level.

Washington, D.C., Massachusetts, Connecticut, Iowa, Vermont, New Hampshire and New York have legalized same-sex marriages, and attorneys general in Maryland, New Mexico, Rhode Island and Wyoming have issued opinions declaring that their states will recognize valid same-sex marriages performed in other states or jurisdictions.

In addition, several states that do not provide for same-sex marriage do provide “marriage equivalent” status to same-sex couples that is intended to be...
To view the full article, register now.
Law360 Pro Say Podcast
Check out Law360's new podcast, Pro Say, which offers a weekly recap of both the biggest stories and hidden gems from the world of law.